Minimum Mandatory Sentence
A conviction of a misdemeanor drug arrest in South Florida carries a jail
sentence of up to one year and a $1,000 fine. A conviction of the most
minor misdemeanor can impact your life severely - not just from the jail
time and fine, but future employment opportunities, too. If convicted,
you also can be denied rental housing from an arrest. A conviction also
will result in suspension of your driver's license. Many felony drug
charges, such as trafficking, have severe minimum mandatory sentencing,
such as 3 to 25 years. Florida law also requires a 3-year minimum mandatory
sentence for the sale of certain drugs within 1,000 feet of a school,
park, or child care facility.
You may also risk losing the ability to:
- Adopt or foster a child
- Receive a student loan
Facing Drug Charges? Call Perlet, Shiner, McKamey, Melchiorre & Walsh, P.A.
If you have been charged of a drug crime, or believe you will be charged,
time is of the essence. You need the help of our highly experienced, tough
attorneys. Our West Palm Beach criminal attorneys at Perlet, Shiner, McKamey,
Melchiorre & Walsh, P.A. will actively and aggressively defend any
drug charges brought against you. Representing clients in all areas of
South Florida, our criminal lawyers are well-versed in the particular
nature of drug crimes, and always take time to understand the special
circumstances surrounding your particular case.
Our defense team has extensive prior experience as prosecutors, so our
criminal attorneys know both sides of criminal cases. We understand the
intricacies of physical and circumstantial evidence, testimony and are
well-versed in standard police procedure. Our experience on both sides
of the legal representation will ensure that your case receives the strongest
defense possible. We have successfully defended drug cases in all of South
Florida, including West Palm Beach, Boca Raton, Wellington, Jupiter, Delray
Beach, Boynton Beach, and surrounding cities.
Give us a call today
for skilled criminal defense.