- Asset Seizure Forfeiture
- Criminal Defense
- Criminal Defense Tips
- Criminal Law News
- Domestic Violence
- Drug Crimes
- Entrapment Defense
- Federal Crimes
- Juvenile Crimes
- Sex Crimes
- Vehicular Manslaughter
- Violent Crimes
- Weapons Charges
- White Collar Crimes
What You Need to Know About Sex Offender Registration
Each state has its own sex offender registry—a database of information about convicted sex offenders made available to the public at large. Under Florida law, which has some of the strictest registration laws in the nation, sexual predators and sexual offenders are mandated to register as sex offenders.
This includes those convicted of:
- Sexual battery
- Selling or buying minors into sex trafficking or prostitution
- Sexual performance by a child
- Child pornography
- Luring or enticing a child
- False imprisonment
Florida Sex Offender Registration Requirements
Once a sex offender is released from incarceration, they must register in-person with the local sheriff’s department within 48 hours of residency in the state. Sex offenders are required to provide the following information when registering:
- Name, age and date of birth
- Height, weight, race and sex
- Social Security number
- Eye and hair color
- Address of current residence and place of work
- Recent photograph
- Description of the crime (when and where it was committed and the sentence received)
The information provided by the sex offender, including their picture, is made available to the public through any number of sex offender websites.
Residency and Work Restrictions
State and local law places restrictions on where sex offenders can live after serving their sentence. Florida law prohibits those convicted of sex crimes—against a child under 16 years of age—from living within 1,000 feet of a school, day care center, playground and park. A county may impose even stricter residency requirements.
There are also restrictions on where certain registered sex offenders may work. If a minor was involved in the sex crime, an offender cannot volunteer or work at any business, museum, school or place where children are regularly present.
If you have been arrested for a sex offense, contact Perlet & Shiner, P.A. immediately. Our West Palm Beach criminal attorneys are dedicated to providing quality representation and defending your privacy and rights.
Call561-721-0552 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.